Our Greatest Need

hand-792923__180

Addressing the spiritual needs of both those in prison and the the loved one(s) left behind is our mission here at Larriba Ministries. By affording the reader insights from the heart of a rescued soul, the reader gains hope for their incarcerated loved one. After all if a hard core drug addict with a twenty year criminal history can make it, so can your loved one. Drug addictions know no bounds and anyone can be at risk. Therefore I have dedicated my life to telling the story of how God rescued me. What I am about to share with you is my interpretation of: (Desire vs Need), and how both of these played out for me during a forty year period filled with suffering and loss. Not everyone is going to agree with me and that is ok, but for those of you who receive something of value here, may God magnify your increase. Amen.

In my book entitled “Remember the Prisoners: He Came to Set the Captives Free,” I pose a question; “Who is the most important person in your life?” I go on to illustrate that by the evidence of where the target audience is currently located, (jail or prison),  if they are honest with themselves the only logical conclusion is, that (they) are the most important person in their own lives. Nobody else’s wants, needs or feelings matter more than their own. With that being said I think that we can all agree that at some point in our own lives we can exhibit selfish behaviors. How do we overcome selfishness? Why should we consider others felling above our own especially when we think we are right? Here I try to address this issue from my own learning experience. Thank you for reading.

Excerpts from: “Remember the Prisoners: He Came to Set the Captives Free”

The thing about being selfish is that it leaves you empty. You connive, scheme, and manipulate to get what you want, and anybody in your way is the enemy. That includes parents, spouses, children, and the rest of the world. So, pretty much the only person who really likes your scandalous, lying self is you. Everyone else around you is either scared of you or puts up with you so he or she can get what he or she wants—because that person is selfish too, or he or she is in love with the idea of being in love with you.

All those you know who matter have put their hope and trust in you so you would step up and be the person they need, but you fall short every time. Sure, for a while you do well and catch a break, get a good job, or get out of trouble. But then you get in the way of success … No, you sabotage your own success because success means responsibility, responsibility means sacrifice, and sacrifice means no more drugs, alcohol, crime, and all that. So being selfish leaves you empty, alone, scared, uncertain, and locked up.

So where are all the hope and peace I was talking about? We’ll get to that, but first we need to break it down so it’s all raw and open; we need to clean out the wound before we dress it, if you catch my drift. But whatever you do, give yourself a real shot at freedom and keep reading.

It is my fervent prayer that this book helps you to rediscover yourself—and more importantly, that it helps you to step into your greatness. I promise you that if you read this book from cover to cover and apply what you’ve learned to your life, your heart will be touched, your mind will be opened, miracles will happen, and lives will be restored.

In some cases, restoration will come seemingly overnight. Some will be restored twofold; some, a hundredfold. Much depends on your willingness to participate. Remember when I said, “Right about now you would say or do just about anything to get out of jail and out of trouble, but would you do what it takes?”

I want you to think about that for a minute. If you’re reading this, it’s because you can’t make bail or are currently serving out your sentence. Would you do what it takes? You’ve already begged, threatened, and tried to guilt everyone you know into putting up something for collateral to make 10 percent or the full amount of a cash-only bond. But everything you’ve tried has failed. That’s because everyone who knows you knows you’ll skip out and leave him or her hanging, losing whatever he or she has put up.

Some of you can’t make bail because, quite frankly, they are scared of you and are glad you’re in jail. You sure find out who your friends are; but more importantly, if you’re honest with yourself, you know what people really think of you. Would you do what it takes? You can’t tell me that you haven’t at least one time said, “Please, God. Get me outta this, and I’ll do better from now on. I promise.”

You can’t tell me that you’re not sick and tired of sitting in there and wondering what you could do to make it all go away—somehow turn your life around and put it all behind you. Hold your head up high instead of looking over your shoulder or running when you hear a siren. You know what I mean: that feeling of terror that grips your heart when you see a cop and know you’ve got a warrant. This all stems from the choices you make when you’re being the most selfish, when only your feelings, wants, and desires matter.

Stop throwing your life away, friend. The good news is that all this has led you somewhere where you can’t hurt anybody anymore. Others are safe from you, and you can finally slow down and listen to the beat of your own heart. Every human has a greatest desire and need. We’ll cover the desire first.

Men’s (and women’s) greatest desire is to love and to be loved, to belong to something greater than themselves. We seek out the fulfillment of this desire from the moment we leave the womb, desperately seeking to satisfy the hunger of a bond. To our great detriment, self is seeking out a way to satisfy its own hunger: lust. And we lose the image and virtue of love and replace it with the corrupted counterfeit of lust. We can identify lust because it always acts like this; it sees, it wants, and it acts. If it is rejected, it becomes angry and vengeful. If it is fed, it is never satisfied and always seeks its own way and will above all else and all others.

Our relationships, no matter how much we want to believe they are real, lasting, meaningful, and pure, are unstable at best because they are born out of selfish ambition. Not that they don’t have value—every human heart seeks its bond of love—but until love is revealed, we are led by lust. Let me illustrate: If the love you have is true and the bond you claim to have is born out of love, then how can you be the most important person in that relationship? True love always prefers the other person over self. The other’s wants, wishes, desires, and needs always are met above your own.

Now that we’ve established that our view of love is clouded, we can see that self has hijacked our greatest desire and replaced it with a counterfeit named “lust.” So we owe it to ourselves to uncover and expose this impostor for what it is: a destroyer, a thief, a murderer. It has destroyed our lives, stolen our freedom and happiness, and killed our relationships.

Love, on the other hand, for example: would never initiate a relationship by intruding on an already existing one. It would never cheat to get what it wants because what it truly wants is to give unconditionally, intentionally, unequivocally, and eternally. And since we are imperfect mortals with a beginning and an ending, we can never love this way. We need something, someone, the source of true love to love through us. We were made to carry this love, but we cannot generate or duplicate this love of our own volition. It has to come from the source, and that source is almighty God through His Son, Jesus, the Christ. This leads us to man’s (and woman’s) greatest need … salvation.

              Salvation is the all-inclusive word that describes man’s current condition both spiritually and physically as a result of his fall from grace, as described in the Bible, and the plan God set forth to bring man back into relationship and restore his rightful place in the universal order. (We will cover this topic shortly). You may want to take a few moments to reflect on your current situation. How did you get here? What is the condition of your heart? What did your eyes see that you thought you had to have, and what were your actions that led you here?

If you’re honest with yourself, you’ll agree that your own selfish ambition, fueled by lust, has been your guiding influence most of your life. You’ve tried it your way, and it’s not working. That is to say that in our present condition, the self-centered choices we make, no matter how noble the intention, always lead to destruction. For example, “I’ll just gamble one last time, one last paycheck. I’ll hit big, come back home with all the lost earnings and more, and my family will be proud of me. Then I’ll stop.”

Or consider this: “I dropped out of school, I have a record. No one will hire me, I can never get a really good job. Just one more robbery, just one more heist, and I’ll have enough that my family and I will be okay.”

How about this one? “I’ve been breaking my back all day long for the man; my boss is so ungrateful. I have to do all the dirty work while he or she kicks back and reaps all the benefits. I deserve a drink, a puff, a bump.” You know very well that you’ve convinced yourself of this many times, and the end result is always the same: getting drunk, acting like a fool no one likes, high or coming down; feeling ashamed, empty, and alone. Why do we do those things aside from the obvious entitlements and addictions? How did you become addicted, and how did you get to feel that the whole world owes you something?

What I’m about to tell you is life-changing knowledge. Remember that supernatural knowledge I told you about earlier, that special knowledge I was looking for in those books and trying to connect to? Well, here it is for real. What I’m about to reveal to you took me forty years to learn, and it is the absolute truth. From here on out, you will begin to learn the true secrets and mysteries of mankind: his origin, his purpose, and his destiny—your destiny.

I will help guide you through my own experience as well as the power and willingness of the living God to set you free forever. Whatever you think you know or don’t know about God and about yourself is about to change as the Holy Spirit begins to do His work in your life by opening your eyes and mind, and preparing the soil of your heart to accept the seed that will spring forth, a tree of life within you overflowing with good fruit.

It would be most beneficial for you to get a Bible for the rest of this journey. Don’t worry about what other people say or think. This is your preappointed time. God has drawn boundaries around your life. It’s in here where you can listen, where you can receive. Believe it or not, you’re in the right place at the right time to change your life forever as the storehouse doors of heaven open to you, where an unending supply of mercy, grace, love, and provision wait to be poured out on you—not only on you but on everyone who comes in contact with you; they too will be blessed. You will become a wellspring of life fully equipped for all of life’s challenges, lacking nothing. Others will seek you out, wanting to hear your words, even to just touch you and get some of what you have, because what you’ll have is undeniable, transforming, real, and permanent.

I can honestly say that the changes in my life anyway, are real and permanent. Eleven years have gone by since I gave my life to Christ  and not one day have I ever missed or longed for a drink or a drug. I don’t even think about those things and if I see them taking place before me, it has no effect, no power over me to make me want join them. I have been delivered, not in treatment, not in recovery, but completely delivered.

Any attempt to define the freedom that comes from knowing God would render me inarticulate, that is inexpressible, one has to experience it for themselves to truly understand the power that is found in the Name of Jesus.

Whether you have a loved one that is incarcerated or perhaps living in a prison of your own mind, Jesus can set you free. He loves you more than you could ever imagine and He proved that two thousand years ago on Calvary’s Cross. I invite you right now to surrender your life to the Prince of Peace and challenge you to give God a chance. He knows you are hurting. He knows that you can’t take anymore. He knows that you have been contemplating suicide and He is speaking to you right now. . .

“Children, be still and Know that I am God.(Psalm 46:10)

I will never leave you nor forsake you.(Deut 31:6)

I will not leave you orphans. (John 14:18)

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and hope. then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me and I will listen to you. And you will seek me and find Me, when you search for Me with your whole heart. (Jeremiah 29:11-13)

No weapon form against you shall prosper, and every tongue that rises against you in judgement, You shall condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness is from Me, ” Says the Lord. (Isa 54:17)

And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying. There shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed way. (Rev 21:4)

Behold, I am the Lord, the God of all flesh. Is there anything too hard for Me? (Jer 32:27)

Behold, I stand at the door and knock, If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, And he with me. (Rev 3:20)

In and acceptable time I have heard you, in the day of salvation I have helped you. Behold, now is the acceptable time; behold, now is the day of salvation. II Cor 6:2)

Love,

Jesus

For the rest of the story pleas visit: https://www.amazon.com/Remember-Prisoners-Came-Captives-Free/dp/1512743437/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1466983340&sr=1-1&keywords=remember+the+prisoners

 

 

Leave a Reply

