Hope for the Prisoner

theres another me in here

Greetings and God bless. I, as an ex-con have felt the sting of public scrutiny for my mistakes. I KNOW i have done wrong and I have paid for it. If my requirements to re-enter society under the law have been satisfied, then why does society still view me as the dredges of humanity? Anyone who has been down and then had to fill out a job application, knows exactly what I am talking about. Though we have served out our sentence, our past never seems to stop haunting us.
Obviously crimes differ in degree, and some criminals are harder than others, some don’t want to change, or don’t know how. But let me ask you this, how many of you out there cheat on your taxes? How many of you are embezzling from your company or Trust fund? How many of you are partaking in human trafficking, by engaging in prostitution; yes (Johns) I am talking to you.
The only difference between me and you, is, you haven’t got caught yet. But even if you are the accountant cooking the books, the slimy sex addict that cheats on his wife/husband, or just a blade of grass in a field of many not reporting income, eventually you will slip up. Small amounts of money stolen over time adds up. I know, you are going to pay it all back with interest as soon as you get on your feet right? Right. . . I know, she doesn’t understand you, you have needs, right? Right. . . I know, you know the books better than anyone and no one questions you numbers, right? Wrong. It’s just a matter of time before it’s you who are writing this article hoping to reach a sympathetic ear. Well, good luck, stay frosty, and do watch your back. Somebody already knows what you’re up to. Made any enemies lately? Do be careful in your comings and goings, you never know you is taking pictures of you and documenting your every move; it’s just a matter of time.
I hate to be a downer, I know you were just getting ready to shift some money around. I know you were just getting ready to run down and catch your favorite girl down on the corner and hurry back in time for bacon and eggs with your unsuspecting wife. “Just going down to get a paper Sweetie, be right back, love you.” While you’re down there visiting Felicia, Summer, Destiny or whatever her pimp has named her, take a good hard look at those bruises that cover her body. You either could care less or think she deserves them, but know this, YOU put those there; you and every other (John).
For all you upstanding members of society behaving yourselves, good for you. For all you doing dirt and pointing you finger at me, shame on you. But the good news is, there is hope for the prisoner. Whether you are in a prison of your own design, possibly on your way, or know somebody who is, there is hope and there is a way to break the cycle! I would like to share with you my personal, true life account of that hope. God bless.
Rev. Larriba
2 thoughts on “Hope for the Prisoner

Leave a Reply

